Channel Surfing, My 2013 Fall Shows

I don’t watch a lot of TV during Spring/Summer because I’d rather spend my spare time outdoors, out in the sunshine, firing up my allergies, than staying indoors doing nothing. 

Not only that but I find Fall/Winter programming to be more interesting.  It’s during these seasons where TV bigwigs pull out all the stops in terms of plot, casting, special effects, etc. Makes staying indoors worthy and cozy.

There’s a LOT of new shows coming soon and here are my top to-watch list:

FOX September 16, 2013 9/8c
SLEEPY HOLLOW the series has a time travel element to it. If you’re not familiar with the plot, Ichabod Crane wakes up in our century and his buddy, The Headless Horseman, rode shotgun with him. Aside from the obvious paranormal elements in the series, it also hints at a possible (though light) racial theme as Ichabod teams up with an African American detective and as per timelines, Ichabod lived during a time where the views about women and African Americans are different than it is today. Interesting combination, we’ll see if Fox walks the straight line on this one.
CW October 3, 2013 9/8c
I used to watch Vampire Diaries until Nina Dobrev started to annoy me so I quit by Season 3 (sorry fans! Nothing personal). Then I became acquainted with THE ORIGINALS and the whole myth behind the these vampires (I haven’t read the books) and totally digged it. Plus Klaus is so divine and the perfect anti-hero, he reminds me so much of my beloved, Lestat de Lioncourt. I’ll watch this just for the man candy alone.
Lifetime October 6, 2013 10/9c
I love Melissa de la Cruz and enjoyed the premise of WITCHES OF EAST END the book with Norse mythology woven into the Salem Witch Trials, etc. I have to be honest though, I’m skeptical about this adaptation because it’s in Lifetime, a network notorious for B-rated TV movies and sappy romances. I can only hope that the focal point stays on the supernatural than on the romance.
FX October 9, 2013 10/9c
I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I wasn’t a fan of American Horror Story: Asylum. I love creepy and eerie but a bunch of psychos is a different kind of fright and crazy altogether. Still I love how Ryan Murphy & Co. switches it up every season and I am LOVING the theme for season 3, Witches in New Orleans! Not only are the production crew geniuses but the cast is brilliant! AMERICAN HORROR STORY: COVEN will star series regulars Jessica Lange and Evan Peters, who totally owns the show,  and they are joined by Angela Bassett, Kathy Bates and Emma Roberts with Taissa Farmiga rejoining the cast (Violet, Murder House). Powerhouse!
ABC October 10, 2013 8/7c
Once Upon A Time the first story arc, incorporated the Mad Hatter on the show. This season they’re going down the rabbit hole with a couple of tweaks. It’s still more or less Alice In Wonderland but it’s set on modern time with the trademark flashbacks to the world before Evil Queen Regina cursed the land. I read that there’ll be crossovers with the original show so series fans will still get their fill. From the series synopsis, ONCE UPON A TIME IN WONDERLAND reminds me of Splintered (A.G. Howard). I think it has something to do with Alice being not right in the head which was one of Howard’s theme in the book.
CW October 17, 2013 9/8c
A touch of historical on my TV line up! REIGN follows the life of Mary, Queen of Scots. I love watching royal historical shows like this because I’m very entertained by the costumes, hypocrisy, intrigue and all the pomp and circumstance of the time. I wasn’t impressed by Starz, The White Queen so hopefully REIGN will prove to be a better show.
P.S. Lee of Rally The Readers, tune in to this!
NBC October 25, 2013 10/9c
Jonathan Rhys-Meyers as DRACULA Victorian England!
Jonathan Rhys-Meyers!
Need I say more?

30 thoughts on “Channel Surfing, My 2013 Fall Shows

  1. Nice one matey I have heard of some of those but not Dracula and Reign. I am looking forward to Originals but I gots to admit I haven't kept up with Vamp Diaries for a long long time so not sure the impact of that. 🙂 Mich

    Mich

  2. I love Amrican Horror Story. I can't wait flr the third season! Excited with Once Upon a Time in Womderland too. I'm also excited about Castle and Revenge.

    Need to check these other ones out!

  3. We don't get regular television (not well, or reliably anyway) so we rely on netflix. So I don't even hear of what's on TV much of the time. I rarely watch it, but my husband and I like to have some shows we watch together so on the weekends we can watch a few episodes. Once Upon a Time is currently 'our' show as the 2nd season just came on netflix. I didn't know there was a spin off show and I'll be all over that once it's on netflix!
    Witches of East End and Reign both sound good though. Hopefully they are good and stick around. One day maybe I'll get to watch them on netflix!

  4. I am so happy you mentioned Reign because I'd seen it advertised and had completely forgotten about it! Will definitely be tuning in (and chatting about it with you on Twitter!). Klaus was the best thing about TVD, so I'm glad his spin-off got picked up by the CW.

  5. I am super excited about The Originals Braine… and although Nina did start to annoy me a tad I pushed through and it was well worth it 🙂 TVDer for life haha. I'm also excited about The Reign, I haven't heard much about it but anything on the CW is always good.

    Haven't dropped by in a while, hope all is well!!!

    Kayla @ K.G. INC

Leave a comment