Liked It: Broken Shadows by A.J. Larrieu

Series: The Shadowminds 3

Format: Mobi
Release Date: March 19, 2015
Publisher: Carina Press
Source: Author
Genre: Urban Fantasy

Everyone has a breaking point.

Mina Tanner was once a converter, a human with telekinetic and telepathic abilities. After a vicious mental assault by an evil shadowmind stripped her of her powers, she was forced to flee her home to escape her attacker. Now, she’s trying to start a new life in San Francisco, far away from any and all reminders of the gifts she grew up using.

But her precariously balanced “normal” life topples as her apartment and her job fall victim to a new luxury development. Jackson Herring, an old family friend and powerful converter, offers Mina his spare bedroom while she gets on her feet, and she agrees…reluctantly. Mina’s finding it difficult enough to adjust without a daily reminder of what she’s lost, especially when that reminder is six-foot-four, super-talented and gorgeous.

When a mugger attacks her and she somehow burns his hands, Mina realizes that despite everything she’s lost, she may have gained something far more powerful—and dangerous—than she ever imagined. And when the rest of the shadowmind community learns about it, Mina will find herself on the run once again.

I am loving the flow of The Shadowminds. The featured characters on each book have been previously introduced, so we’re already acquainted with their powers and issues. The couples have established connections previously either through childhood friendships, familial relationships, and the like, so there’s no insta-love. Just a slow developing romance which I prefer.
That said, I’ll jump to the romance and say that I like Mina and Jackson as a couple. Theirs wasn’t an instantaneous thing in that they took their time. I find Shadowmind relationships interesting because the level of intimacy is deeper. I mean how can you possibly play coy when the other person can read your mind? Tricky right? Trust me it’s awesome when they start consummating, it hits you in multiple levels.
BROKEN SHADOWS is more plot driven and the action is low key compared to the previous novels. On top of figuring out the future of their attraction, Mina’s living situation, and her new powers, there’s also this problem concerning Shadowminds. It was quite the guesswork and such an explosive adventure. 
Also BROKEN SHADOWS is set in San Francisco which excited me because I used to live there a few years ago. I wish the setting was more atmospheric like I want to feel I’m sin San Francisco, you know what I mean? Larrieu gave the previous novels a good feel of Louisiana and I’m slightly disappointed the backdrop felt too generic. 
Even if I have subjective quibbles about BROKEN SHADOWS, I do love the change of scenery. Mina, like Cass, is a great heroine. She carried the story well and though a formidable Shadowmind, she wasn’t brawny and brazen. She’s one of those reluctant heroines and I like thy vulnerability in her. Also A.J. confirmed that BROKEN SHADOWS is the first book and a spin-off of Shadowminds. It’s doesn’t say so yet in GR, and A.J. hasn’t come up with a new series title atm. 
A few months back I read a similar series penned by Maya Banks. Though I liked her psychic heroes, AJ Larrieu’s is better. The absence of insta-love combined with a mystery that wasn’t rushed makes a huge difference IMHO. So if you’re fond of this type of story, I encourage you to  give Shadowminds a go.

A.J. Larrieu grew up in small-town Louisiana, where she spent her summers working in her family’s bakery, exploring the swamps around her home and reading science fiction and fantasy novels under the covers. She attended Louisiana State University, where she majored in biochemistry and wrote bad poetry on the side. Despite pursuing a Ph.D. in biology, she couldn’t kick the writing habit, and by the time she graduated, she had an addiction to writing sexy urban fantasy and paranormal romance. Her first book, Twisted Miracles, was a finalist in RWA’s Golden Heart® competition in 2012. The book kicks off her dark, romantic urban fantasy series, The Shadowminds, which follows a group of humans with unusual powers through New Orleans’ supernatural underworld. A.J. is currently a working biophysicist in San Francisco, where she lives with her family and too many books.

Stalk AJ

22 thoughts on “Liked It: Broken Shadows by A.J. Larrieu

  1. I read Twisted Miracles a while ago and really liked it but still haven't gotten around to continuing the series. I had no idea that Mina would get her own story as well and I have to say, I am curious!

    I am glad you enjoyed this, Braine!

    Great review! 🙂

    Rashika @ The Social Potato

  2. I'm glad you enjoyed this installment in the series, Braine, even if the change of scenery wasn't all it could have been. I like the sound of the plot and that the characters are so well-developed. I'll put this series on my tbr. 🙂

Leave a comment